What Is Tapioca?

Tapioca, tapioca pearls, tapioca starch, and occasionally also tapioca flour – the forms of sale alone cause confusion. We bring clarity to the variety of terms. We also explain what tapioca is, where it comes from, how it tastes, and what you can do with it in the kitchen. Find out everything you need to know here with us!

Interesting facts about tapioca

Tapioca (tapioca) is pure starch obtained from the tropical-subtropical root cassava, originally from South America. Since tapioca is gluten-free, the product is popular in gluten-free cuisine for baking and for thickening when cooking. And similar to corn and potato starch. Tapioca is also vegan, lactose and yeast-free, and therefore ideal for a purely plant-based or hypoallergenic diet. Due to the almost completely neutral taste of tapioca, cornstarch can be used for both sweet and savory dishes. This makes the ingredient versatile in terms of possible uses.

Purchasing and storage

The cassava product is available finely ground, as flakes, or in pearl form. Tapioca starch is used as a synonym for tapioca flour. Are you looking for tapioca for your kitchen? Have a look at your store, in the Asia department! Like other cornstarch, you should store tapioca in any form in a well-closable container or in the resealable sales packaging in a dry and cool place.

Kitchen tips for tapioca

You can use tapioca flour or tapioca starch as an alternative to other starches and eggs when baking bread, rolls, flatbreads, pastries, and cakes. Please also read our further information on the subject of vegan baking – egg substitute. In addition, tapioca is ideal as a binding agent for sauces, soups, and desserts. Incidentally, the popular bubble tea, refreshing tea and trendy drink from Asia is prepared with tapioca pearls. The small globules make the drink a special taste experience thanks to their rubbery consistency. Pudding is also easy to prepare with tapioca pearls.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top