Quark – Can you eat it if you are lactose intolerant?
If you are lactose intolerant, it is better to refrain from foods that have a lactose value of more than 1 gram per 100 grams. However, this is only a guideline. It may well be that you also tolerate foods with more lactose – or that you have to resort to foods with a lower value. In general, a food is considered lactose-free if it contains 0.1 grams of lactose per 100 grams. Quark behaves as follows:
- Ordinary quark has a lactose content of around 2.7 to 3.7 grams per 100 grams.
- Depending on how strongly you react to the lactose, you will tolerate it or not.
- If you are not sure, you can also find a lactose-free quark in the supermarket, which you can eat without hesitation.